Pumpkin Up In This Bitch


As you may or may not know, I’m a huge fan of pumpkin beers. I’m a huge fan of pumpkin anything/everything, really. #PSL4Lyfe

So I decided that I wanted to brew a batch of pumpkin beer this Fall. Unfortunately I’d had a couple of bad batches, so I wanted to make sure I got my process back on track before I attempted a pumpkin recipe. Pumpkin beers are notorious for stuck sparges and tricky brew-days. After tasting Spirit’s Foe prior to bottling (solid, if a little too hoppy) and Uncommon Wrath at finishing gravity (a bit of a medicinal smell, but delicious); I figured I could give the pumpkin brew a shot.

This recipe is an adapted version of the Pocahontas Pumpkin Ale recipe  appeared in Zymurgy magazine, and a few other pumpkin recipes that I’ve seen around the Interwebz. My undying love for Maris Otter is also prevalent in this recipe.  I’m also using a different yeast; I have some San Diego Super around, and that’s sort of my go-to at this point.

In regards to the pumpkin and maple additions, I’m going to taste a sample of the first runnings after the saccharification rest and see if I should add the second dose of pumpkin to the boil. I’m planning to add the maple syrup with about 5 minutes left in the boil to get some of the flavor and aroma in there, but I want the pumpkin to be the lead in this show.

The Recipe:

Symphony of Decay (Maple Pumpkin Ale)

BrewToad Link

Fermentables

NAME AMOUNT USE PPG
 Maris Otter Pale Ale Malt 11.5 lb  81 % Mash 36
 Crystal 20L 14.0 oz  6 % Mash 34
 Rice Hulls 8.0 oz  3 % Mash 0
 2-Row Chocolate Malt 4.0 oz  1 % Mash 34
 Maple Syrup 1.0 lb  7 % Boil 30

Hops

NAME AMOUNT TIME USE FORM AA
Northern Brewer United States 0.75 oz 60 min Boil Pellet 9.0%

Yeasts

NAME LAB ATTENUATION TEMP
San Diego SuperYeast WLP090 White Labs 79.5% 65°F – 68°F

Extras

NAME AMOUNT TIME USE
Pumpkin 30.0 oz 0.0 min Mash
Pumpkin 30.0 oz 60.0 min Boil
Pumpkin Pie Spice 1.0 tsp 5.0 min Boil

Process

  • Spread the pumpkin into a shallow pan and bake at 350°F for 60 minutes.
  • Mash all the grains together at 154F for 60 minutes, and sparge.
  • Bring wort to a vigorous boil. Slowly add the baked pumpkin, stirring constantly until completely dissolved.
  • Add maple syrup with 5 min left in boil.
  • Ferment for at least 14 days at 64-68°F
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

