Beer Review: Avery’s DuganA


Hopolooza continues with Avery’s DuganA double IPA. Avery is one of my favorite breweries. I got the chance to visit thanks to a freak snowstorm in Boston that left me, my dad and my brother stranded in Denver. I’m not what exactly “DuganA” is, except for an anagram of “Uganda” and apparently a goddess of topless beer-drinking. Hmm… I think I just found a new religion.

From Avery:

Beer Style: Double India Pale Ale
Hop Variety: Chinook, Centennial and Columbus
Malt Variety: Two-row barley, dark aromatic, caramel malt
OG: 1.076 ABV: 8.5% IBUs: 93 Color:Deep Gold

Lupulin Rapture Incarnate! As fervent devotees of hops, we found ourselves on a quest to create a transcendental IPA capable of quenching our voracious lupulin desires. Our mantra became “unity of bitterness, hop flavor and aroma.” Enlightened, duganA IPA was born: A brutally bitter, dank, piney and resinous ale designed for those seeking a divine hop experience.

Avery Dugana 1

BeerAdvocate: 93, 89
RateBeer: 99, 96
Untappd: 3.92

Appearance: A very hazy burnt orange color with a white head of nice big bubbles. The head leaves pretty quickly, which makes sense for 8.5% ABV, but leaves nice thick lacing on the glass. This is a little darker than a standard IPA, and more orange than the High Tide IPA I reviewed the other day.

Smell: Nice strong hop aroma right out of the bottle. Some citrus and some strong dankness. Spicy and piney notes. Definitely resinous. The smell warns of a big, bitter beer. Pine and dank are the predominant aromas that I get. The citrus seems to come in on the back end.

Taste: The first sip was a bitter right hook from hell right to the face-hole. After that there’s a nice bit of resiny bitterness. There’s a little bit of the citrus, but the major players here are the pine and spice hop flavors. There is a strong bitter flavor to this. IPA? LOL. This is definitely a Double IPA. The malt profile is very sweet. There’s some nice caramel notes that do a good job of taking the edge off the bitterness just a touch without bring the beer into balance. There’s almost a sweet apple-like flavor, as well.

Mouthfeel: This beer is sticky. Not quite Russian Imperial Stout sticky, but more like “Snoop Dogg sticky-icky-icky woo-wee” sticky. The bitterness is tongue and lip-prickling and overall it is a nice double IPA character. I don’t expect for my palate to be of too much use after this beer, but I wouldn’t say it is being abused.

Final Verdict: 4 out of 5. Buy/try it.

Buy it if you’re a hophead, try it if you’re not crazy about strongly-bittered IPA/DIPAs. This is yet another solid beer from Avery. I’m not sure how I like it compared against the Maharaja; I’d have to try them side-by-side, but my recollection is that there is a similar bitterness quality if a different overall flavor. Definitely worth checking out.

Avery Dugana 2

Leave a Reply

