Beer Review: Banner’s Run to Equinox


I reviewed a Banner beer yesterday (actually both of these beers were reviewed Thursday, but I’m time-travelling via the magic of the Internet and virgin sacrifice). Today I’ve got another that I picked up at my local. Today’s beer is Banner’s Run to Equinox, a hoppy brown ale.

Banner Equinox 1

Run to Equinox is another sessionable beer, weighing in at 4.2% ABV and again, I am thoroughly impressed with the flavor density (a term I just made up) in this beer. First off though, this is another good looking beer. Mostly clear, but particularly bright for a brown ale, I’d call this a toasted brown color that’s much more translucent than a lot of brown ales I’m used to. It a thin white head that leaves some decent lacing on my pint glass. Aroma-wise I don’t get a ton of hop notes (in fairness this beer was canned on 2/20/14, so some of that may have dissipated), but I do get a nice nutty, toasty malt smell. It has that “brown ale” aroma note that I can’t quite name, but regardless it’s a nice smell. Taste-wise this is a really solid brown ale. Unfortunately, I don’t get too much of the “hoppy” in this “hoppy brown ale.” Biscuity and nutty with hints of caramel and toffee. A nice full-body on this beer too, with a silky mouthfeel. But not sweet; there are hops here for bitterness that helps balance this beer out but nothing I would call hoppy. It’d guess the hops are of the earthy, spicy, floral variety

Final Verdict: As far as brown ales go, I really like Run to Equinox. Brown ales are one of my favorite – and I feel under-appreciated – styles. This is a really strong example, and not one that goes overboard with body, booze or hops. I really easy drinking brown ale that I can recommend pretty easily.

Banner Equinox 3

Leave a Reply

