Uncommonly Frequent Posts


I’m going to keep doing “uncommon” puns until I either run out or get sick of them. Luckily for you, I’m already sick of them.

So I promised an update on Uncommon Wrath when it had achieved it’s final form. It’s still not quite there yet, but a few interesting things happened today that are worth blogging about.

My homebrew club – whose webpage I’m working on, so stay tuned for that – had our monthly meeting tonight; instead of our usual stomping grounds, we posted up at the future home of Barrel House Z. Russ, Pat, and Pat were gracious enough to host the MASH HOLES and talk about their plans for the new brewing venture that’s setting up shop in our backyard. BHZ is hosting a homebrew competition so a good portion of our meeting focused on that on BHZ’s plans for the future and their commitment to the local brewing community.

I decided to bring some of my new German Alt/Amber – Uncommon Wrath – to the meeting to get some feedback from my club-mates, and was lucky enough to have Russ ask to try some. Russ is kind of a big deal; he was the first brewmaster a little place you might have heard of (Harpoon Brewery), and he gave me some really great and really specific feedback. Some of it I had heard before from my dude Marshall, the Brulosopher, about treating my water (he gave really similar advice given the softness of the local water), and some recommendations for the yeast strain I’d used. Other than those helpful tidbits I received a lot of positive feedback for the beer (one of the other BHZ guys, Pat “the Elder,” said he really enjoyed it), so it was all-in-all very encouraging.

For me, I can’t look past any flaws in my beers once they’re pointed out to me, but I’d rather force-feed myself 5 gallons of an imperfect beer I have an idea of how to improve than be blissfully ignorant of my mistakes and foist it onto other people. Which isn’t to say the beer is bad; it’s actually quite easy to drink, pretty smooth, and has some interesting character to it. But I’m already planning the next brew day of it.

Uncommon Wrath 2.16.16

Here’s a glamour shot of the beer in question in the new MASH HOLES tasting glasses.

Appearance: Amber (duh) with a fluffy white head. The clarity doesn’t come through in this shot, a side effect of it still carbonating and not having had any time to settle out, but it is very clear through the tubing.

Aroma: Toffee and caramel with a bit of nuttiness, with faint hints of sulfur and almost a soapiness. Those flaws are fairly subdued but evident to me now every time (sigh). There’s also just a touch of floral notes from the late addition Centennial hops.

Mouthfeel: Light-medium body with a little bit of bite from the carbonation. This could stand to be a little rounder and fuller, but not off for the style.

Flavor: Caramel and toffee with a bit of fruitiness, very light biscuity notes; relatively balanced with the bitterness. For a generally more malt-forward style, I’d like a little more punch from grains. This is smooth but relatively unremarkable.

Overall: The best thing this beer has going for it is that it is really, really easy to drink. At only 4.8% ABV it’s sessionable. At only 44 IBUs it isn’t too bitter or palate wrecking. None of the malts are overbearing or too sweet. It’s by no means “bad,” and actually I like it, but with so little to hide behind the flaws remain evident for me. I’m officially dying to rebrew this.

Uncommon Wrath

Basics

  • Mash at 152*F for 60 minutes
  • Boil for 90 minutes
  • 5.5 gallon batch size
  • OG: 1.051
    FG: 1.013
    IBU: 44
    SRM: 14
    ABV: 5.0%

Fermentables

Amount Fermentable Maltster Use PPG Color
11.0 lb

Maris Otter Pale (UK)

Any Mash 38 3 °L
0.75 lb

Caramel/Crystal 60L (US)

Any Mash 34 60 °L
0.75 lb

Special B (BE)

Any Mash 34 115 °L

Hops

Amount Hop Time Use Form AA
1.2 oz Chinook (US) 60 min Boil Pellet 12.0%
2.0 oz Centennial (US) 0 min Boil Pellet 10.5%

Yeasts

Name Lab/Product Attenuation
German Ale Wyeast 1007 75.0%

Mash steps

Step Heat Source Target Temp Time
Saccharification Rest Infusion 152.0 °F 60 min

 Adjustments

  • Add 100 ppm of Calcium Chloride to the mash and another 100 ppm to the boil kettle
  • Ferment at 65*F for two weeks
Leave a Reply

