Contemplating Changes


“Change is inevitable, except from vending machines” – a joke I read on the Internet before vending machines had credit card swipers

I’ll start with what’s really bugging me: I hate this WordPress layout. It’s probably one of the better ones for the content I have and the information I like to have displayed but it just looks so amateurish (which, I am, but I’m trying not to look it, you know?). I started searching through replacements and anything else that worked just seemed so sterile. That started a long chain of thoughts about Anti-Hero Brewing.

I was reading an article on personal branding (yeah, I know) and it brought up a few salient points that I hadn’t thought about when I started this blog. One thing I had thought of: if I ever want to “go pro,” Revolution Brewing would probably sue the tits off of me. Anti-Hero is a name (and, generally speaking, a concept) that I really like, but beyond that… it’s kind of all over the place. Mostly because I’m all over the place. I lack focus. And a lack of focus means I don’t have a truly unique voice, and without a unique voice you’re really just making noise.

But that’s something that I can adjust. I know what I like. I like making beer, I like drinking beer, and I like writing about beer. With a little time and effort I can craft that into a focus/purpose for my writing, and contribute a little more than fiery word vomit to the already over-flowing toilet of the Internet.

Essentially – from a blogging perspective – I’ve having an existential crisis. I want to start over, but I don’t want to lose what few friends and readers (branding term: “audience”) I’ve made through this blog. A “re-branding” is one thing that I’m considering for the short-term: new logos and links, cleaner layout, more substantive posts, etc. So be on the look-out for an updated look and feel to this site.

I’m going to try to continue to post more often, and also go into a little more depth about what I’m doing with my brews, and how I’m trying to progress as a brewer. I’ll also try to do less whining about the endless list of beer-related news items that piss me off, but some ranting is surely inevitable.

Stay tuned.

4 Comments

  1. Nice little read. Just stumbled in here so it will be nice to see where the changes go. I like making beer and I like blogging too… I’m constantly changing everything, but that’s half the fun 🙂 In brewing and writing, I usually do things for myself, but sometimes find something that blow people away. Keep it up mate. If anything, it’s a place to learn more about, and keep track of your learnings on beer. And that’s the important stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

